General Site Information
Site ID:US-Seg
Site Name:Sevilleta grassland
Tower Team: PI: Marcy Litvak <mlitvak@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
FluxContact: Jonathan Furst <jfurst@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
FluxContact: Steven W. Crisp <scrisp@unm.edu> - Universtiy of New Mexico
BADMContact: Bobby Mullin <bobbymullin@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
DataManager: Alex Moody <alexmoody@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
DataManager: Gregory Maurer <gregmaurer@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
DataManager: Randy Lefevre <rlefevre@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
Technician: Stephanie Schmiege <sschmiege@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
Latitude:34.3623
Longitude:-106.7019
Elevation (m):1622
NetworkAmeriFlux
IGBP:GRA (Grasslands)
Climate Koeppen:Bsk (Steppe: warm winter)
Mean Annual Temperature (degrees C):13.67
Mean Annual Precipitation (mm):273
Data Products: AmeriFlux BASE Dataset
Data Availability: AmeriFlux BASE:   8 years (Duration: 2007 - 2014)
Data Downloads to Date: AmeriFlux BASE:   197 unique downloads
Data DOIs: AmeriFlux BASE DOI: 10.17190/AMF/1246124
Description:The Sevilleta Desert Grassland site is located within the McKenzie Flats area of the Sevilleta National Wildlife Refuge (NWR), central New Mexico. Historically, this area has been used for livestock grazing; however, the McKenzie Flats have not been grazed since 1973 and the effects of this previous grazing are considered negligible for the purposes of this study. As the name suggests, McKenzie Flats is an extensive (~130 km2), nearly flat, mixed-species desert grassland bounded on the east by Los Pinos Mountains and on the west by the Rio Grande.
Site image(s):
For additional AmeriFlux site images, see the Web site gallery

Publications relevant to understanding the site
BibliographyUsage
ANDERSON-TEIXEIRA, KRISTINA J., et al. "Differential responses of production and respiration to temperature and moisture drive the carbon balance across a climatic gradient in New Mexico." Global Change Biology 17.1 (2011): 410-424. Reference
ANDERSON‐TEIXEIRA, KRISTINA J., et al. "Differential responses of production and respiration to temperature and moisture drive the carbon balance across a climatic gradient in New Mexico." Global Change Biology 17.1 (2011): 410-424. Reference

These pages show the current information available at http://ameriflux.lbl.gov about this tower.
**Site Team Only** If any of this information is wrong or missing, please submit corrections and updates via http://ameriflux.lbl.gov/web-submit-ui/?site_id=US-Seg