General Site Information
Site ID:US-Mpj
Site Name:Mountainair Pinyon-Juniper Woodland
Tower Team: PI: Marcy Litvak <mlitvak@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
FluxContact: Jonathan Furst <jfurst@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
FluxContact: Steven W. Crisp <scrisp@unm.edu> - Universtiy of New Mexico
BADMContact: Bobby Mullin <bobbymullin@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
DataManager: Alex Moody <alexmoody@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
DataManager: Gregory Maurer <gregmaurer@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
DataManager: Randy Lefevre <rlefevre@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
Technician: Stephanie Schmiege <sschmiege@unm.edu> - University of New Mexico
Latitude:34.4384
Longitude:-106.2377
Elevation (m):2138
NetworkAmeriFlux
IGBP:OSH (Open Shrublands)
Climate Koeppen:Bsk (Steppe: warm winter)
Mean Annual Temperature (degrees C):10.5
Mean Annual Precipitation (mm):385
Data Products: AmeriFlux BASE Dataset
Data Availability: AmeriFlux BASE:   7 years (Duration: 2008 - 2014)
Data Downloads to Date: AmeriFlux BASE:   189 unique downloads
Data DOIs: AmeriFlux BASE DOI: 10.17190/AMF/1246123
Description:This site is located in central New Mexico on an extensive mesa approximately 25 km south of Mountainair, NM, owned by the Heritage Land Conservancy. The dominant tree species, Pinus edulis and Juniperus monosperma make up >95% of the area’s tree cover.  The dominant herbaceous plant at the site is the C4 perennial grass Bouteloua gracilis. 
Site image(s):
For additional AmeriFlux site images, see the Web site gallery

Publications relevant to understanding the site
BibliographyUsage
ANDERSON-TEIXEIRA, KRISTINA J., et al. "Differential responses of production and respiration to temperature and moisture drive the carbon balance across a climatic gradient in New Mexico." Global Change Biology 17.1 (2011): 410-424. Reference
ANDERSON‐TEIXEIRA, KRISTINA J., et al. "Differential responses of production and respiration to temperature and moisture drive the carbon balance across a climatic gradient in New Mexico." Global Change Biology 17.1 (2011): 410-424. Reference

These pages show the current information available at http://ameriflux.lbl.gov about this tower.
**Site Team Only** If any of this information is wrong or missing, please submit corrections and updates via http://ameriflux.lbl.gov/web-submit-ui/?site_id=US-Mpj